Two Weeks In

For the past two weeks, I’ve been spoiled. Last Monday and Tuesday were team building days at work and that means all meals were free. We went to classy latino restaurants Yuerba Buena and Rosa Mexicana.

A latin-inspired ribeye. One of the best steaks I’ve ever had.

The meals weren’t even the best part. The best part was getting to know the people I work with. I have worked with a few groups over the years and I can honestly say that this is one of the better ones. Everyone generally cares about each other and is more than willing to lend a helping hand.

Andie (left) and Edgar (right) are just a couple new people I’ve met over the last couple weeks.

I got to experience two staples of New York entertainment: Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Both of these places were beautiful in their own regard even though I didn’t get to see all of either one.

I only got to see the ancient art and some European exhibits so I will definitely make a trip back there.

Two new food places I went this week:

Jackson Diner: An all-you-can-eat authentic Indian Buffet in the Village. It was awesome food. The best part was the fresh naan bread that came with the meal.

Awesome, cheap Indian Food. The chicken was delicious.

Doughnut Plant: I’ve heard coworkers talk about how good this place is so I decided to look it up. It just so happens that this shop is a doughnut oasis in the middle of the LES about two blocks from my apartment. I went over there after work and grabbed a yeast chocolate doughnut and a carrot cake doughnut. I’ve never had a yeast doughnut before – but I’m sure I will again, it was delicious. The carrot cake one was slightly disappointing, but I’m a carrot cake snob so take that with a grain of salt.

The Doughnut Plant is expensive, but good enough to at least give it a try.

I’m looking forward to continuing to make new friends and finding awesome places to eat in the city, so stay tuned.

Say something!

