First Impressions

For those of you who don’t already know, I am spending my summer living and working in New York. I started my journey the Friday starting Memorial Day Weekend and it has been an interesting ride thus far.

Friday

Friday morning I said my goodbyes and hopped into a plane heading towards LGA. I’ve never flew alone before and it wasn’t any different than usual. Sure, TSA got on my nerves but that is expected.

I hopped in a cab from LGA and think I didn’t act too much like a new New Yorker. The cab driver asked me which way I wanted to go and I confidently told him. Little did he know I had the route mapped on my phone for reference. I got to my room with no problem and the first thing I did was open my window to see the view. And it is an amazing view of the Lower East Side and the Williamsburg bridge.

Saturday

Saturday I did all my shopping for stuff I needed. It was cool to go around the city and see all of the awesome shops in my area. That night I went to Times Square to check out the madness. I saw this guy doing a flip.

Sunday

Sunday I went to The American Museum of Natural History. I haven’t been here since I was 10 or so and all I remembered were the elephants and dinosaurs. I should have remembered how huge this place is. It took me all day to get through, but it was worth it. It was really interesting to see how all of the different cultures and peoples were represented. I also got to meet a movie star, Dexter from Night at the Musem.

Monday

This was the best part of my weekend. I went to the Russian-populated Brighton Beach. It’s only about a 40-minute train ride from my apartment and most of the ride is scenic. The beach itself reminded me of Myrtle in the sense that it was crowded and a little dirty. The best part was the boardwalk and the avenues leading up to the beach that is home to so many authentic Russian shops. I talked to two people in Russian while I was there; the first lady must not have liked my accent because she wanted to speak in English, but the owner of a small bookstore and I spoke for a few minutes about Soviet science fiction. Overall, this part of town that is known for the relentless Russian Mafia was actually one of the kinder parts of town I’ve been to. Here is a book I picked up and a pastry that I bought. I’m not sure what it is or what it is called, but it sure tasted good.

Other Cool Stuff

I got to see this cool car.

And this cool dude.

Overall it was a great introduction to the City.

Say something!

